The requirements are structured around five focus areas for inspections:

  • Space and freedom to move
  • Comfortable climate
  • Nest building and exploration
  • Litter size and competition
  • Mutilations

Listed requirements are citing the literal text of the directives and are not comprehensive. Moreover, there might be stricter national legislation in place. A more detailed description on the specific requirements is given in the review of farrowing housing and management.